Down to the wire: Mazda Road to Indy and Pirelli World Challenge Finales at Monterey



They say you should save the best for last. And while the IndyCar finale kept us hanging on until the final laps, the Mazda Road to Indy and the Pirelli World Challenge finales did not lack for dramatic tension.

Spencer Pigot won the IndyLights title in dramatic form, as polesitter Max Chilton made a mistake entering the Corkscrew and ruined his first race.

Racing for Uruguay, and honoring fallen fellow Uruguyan driver Gonzalo Rodriguez, Sati Urrutia won the Pro Mazda final and dedicated his win to “Goncho”.




Johnny O’Connell won the Pirelli World Challenge GT title for Cadillac, with Ferrari’s Olivier Beretta in second. Frank Montecalvo won the GTA division, with Colin Thompson winning the GT Cup championship.¬†Michael Cooper is the new GTS champion, with Corey Fergus¬†taking the TC title in his Porsche Cayman and Jason Wolfe (below) winning TCA top honors.